Johnson Kwaku Adu 

This is a timeline of the member of Parliament for Ahafo Ano South West Constituency


 In 1990, Johnson completed his O Level (Science) and went on to earn a 3-year Post-Secondary School (Science) qualification in 1995. His educational pursuits continued with a Diploma in Science (Chemistry/Biology) in 2000, followed by a B.ed in Science (Chemistry and Biology) from the University of Education, Winneba in 2001.


Johnson Kwaku Adu served as a class teacher from 1995 to 1997 and a form master tutor from 2001 to 2002 at the Ghana Education Service. Later, he took on the role of the district coordinator for the National Disaster Management Organization (NADMO) from 2002 to 2009. Adu also served as a circuit supervisor for the Ghana Education Service from 2009 to 2012.


Political Life

Adu's political journey is closely tied to the New Patriotic Party (NPP). He was a majority member of the Sixth Parliament of the Fourth Republic of Ghana. During this time, he held the position of Presiding Member of the Ahafo Ano South District Assembly in Mankraso from April 2009 to January 2011. In January 2013, he began his role as a Member of Parliament (MP), a position he continues to hold, now serving in his second term.

2020 election

In the 2020 general election, Johnson Kwaku Adu ran on the ticket of the NPP and secured a decisive victory. He garnered 15,761 votes, accounting for 54.51% of the total votes, while the NDC parliamentary candidate, Sadik Abubakar, received 13,153 votes, or 45.49% of the total votes.


In 2021, Adu, alongside other esteemed parliamentarians, including Alexander Kwamena Afenyo-Markin, Abdul-Aziz Ayaba Musah, Laadi Ayii Ayamba, and Emmanuel Kwasi Bedzrah, participated in an Extraordinary Session of the Parliament of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) held in Freetown, Sierra Leone. This international engagement underlines his role as an influential figure in Ghanaian politics.


Johnson Kwaku Adu is actively engaged in various parliamentary committees. He serves as the Chairperson of the Youth, Sports, and Culture Committee and is also a member of the Health Committee.